The story of the bar
It’s no surprise that when guests first step inside Market restaurant their attention often falls immediately to the impressive wooden bar that graces the restaurant. At nearly 30 feet in length, this exquisite vintage piece made of fire mahogany complements the original stone walls and high ceilings of the building.
Dating back to the late 1800s, it was built in England and then shipped to San Francisco, making its debut at the Palace Hotel. It remained an iconic piece for many years before bouncing around the city to various establishments, and finally landing at a restaurant in San Mateo.
Remaining in San Mateo for over 13 years, the bar was one of the few items the owner held onto after closing his restaurant. Determined to find it a new home, he listed the vintage piece on eBay, where it was discovered by the opening team of Market restaurant in 2004. After years of being tucked in storage, the bar was brought to 1347 Main Street where it received a full restoration, bringing it back to its former glory.